BJP candidate from Hamirpur Anurag Thakur filed his nomination papers. Former Chief Minister Prem Kumar Dhumal, Balbir Punj, Satpal Jain and others accompanied Anurag on the occasion.

Later, the BJP also organised a public rally at the Gandhi Chowk. Prem Kumar Dhumal, Balbir Punj, Gen VK Singh and Anurag Thakur attacked UPA government over corruption and inflation. They believe that people of the country have fed up with price rise, unemployment, Naxal attacks, terrorisms etc and stressed for the need to elect a strong government under Modi.

BJP leader believed that Narender Modi can give strong government that can lead country to the prosperity.

This is Anurag Thakur’s third election for the seat, earlier he had won this seat in 2007 and later retained in 2009.

Congress has fielded Rajender Singh Rana, once a close confident of Prem Kumar Dhumal, against Thakur and has put its all might to wrench Hamirpur seat from BJP, which party had failed to win from 1996.