The BJP has announced to field Ram Swaroop Sharma from Mandi Parliamentary constituency for 2014 General Election.

Ram Swaroop Sharma, who is associated with the party actively from past three decades, is holding the post of state general secretary of party. He is also in-charge of Mandi parliamentary.

The BJP had already declared the candidates for Kangra, Hamirpur and Shimla constituencies last month. Party had tried to woo Himachal Lokhit Party (HLP) president Maheshwar Singh, a three-time MP from Mandi back into the party and field him from Mandi but he turned down the offer and announced to oppose both BJP and Congress and support Aam Admi Party (AAP).