Shimla: The Executive Council (EC) of Himachal Pradesh University today disqualified the affiliation to two B.Ed colleges for not fulfilling the criteria. The EC also released Rs 1 crore grants to the regional centre, Dharamsala.

The EC in a meeting, attended by most of the EC members, Harish Janartha, Chander Shekhar, Bambar Thakur and Vice-Chancellor Dr ADN Bajpai, Registrar Dr Mohan Jharta, Director, Higher Education, Dr Dinkar Burathoki, Director, IGMC, Shimla, Dr KK Kashaul, Director, ICDEOL, Dr KP Thakur, elected member Waryan Singh Bains, Dean of Studies, Suresh Kumar also gave approval to promote 21 associate professors to professors and three assistant professors to associate professors.

To probe the tender given to a Gurgaon company for the preparation of degree certificates and detailed mark sheets of the students, EC has constituted a single-member committee under Chander Shekhar.

The EC took the decision after its members raised the issue at the meeting. It’s learned that the EC members raised single tender given to the Gurgaon firm, pointing out that the students were not getting the DMCs and degree certificates.