Aiming to strengthen party base on grass-root level and to unearth new talent, Congress party think-thank had introduced democratic set-up in its youth Congress. However, it has virtually failed at its various strong bases even when represented by veteran leaders and most of them were holding important positions in the present government. The youth Congress failed to get representations at various booths across the state.

In a recent concluded membership drive, in many assembly segments where are more than 120 booths, the number of delegates are below hundred, most of them are Congress stronghold and represented by the senior party leaders. This time in its all-7243 booths, youth congress has managed to get paltry 11,834 delegates, which are around 1000 less than 2011 election.

This time in Shimla parliamentary, 3456 delegates succeeded to become delegates and in Mandi parliamentary 3276 delegates succeeded. In politically significant Kangra parliamentary, which gave overwhelming support in the assembly election to the Congress, could get only 2783 delegates and in Hamirpur parliamentary youth congress get only 2319.

If we analyze the delegates at the assembly level, surprisingly, the constituencies represented by the veteran leaders and holding powerful positions in the government have failed to attract youth to the party fold. Jaswan segment in Kanga district have lowest delegates of 29, Chintpurni assembly segment, which Congress has not lost since 2003, comes second from bottom with meagre 38 delegates. It’s noted that Kuldeep Kumar, former cabinet minister and now the Chairman of 4th Finance Commission, represents Chintpurni assembly segment.

At Shahpur assembly segment, youth congress gets meagre 68 delegates; Youth leader Keval Singh Pathania comes from this segment and holds the post of Vice Chairman to the Forest Development Corporation in the state government. Haroli secured 77 delegates, representing by Mukesh Agnihotri, Industries and Information & Public Relations Minister. Other assembly segments, which are represented by Cabinet Minister, Bharmour and Theog, got only 84 and 107 delegates. Jaisinghpur assembly segment, which is represented by youth leader Yadvinder Goma, who got ticket from Youth Congress quota, could attract meagre 76 delegates into party fold.

Solan assembly segment, which Congress could win after a long gap, recorded highest 375 delegates and followed by Manali 339, Kullu 335, Banjar 332, Nalagarh 326, Kangra 315, Rohru 312, Nagrota Bagwan 298, Paonta Sahib 292 and Darang 283.

Hamirpur Parliamentary:- Jaswan 29, Chintpurni 38, Bamsan has 66 delegates, Haroli 77, 80 each from Dehra and Shri Naina Devi Ji, Sujanpur 94, Bhoranj 99, Bilaspur 142, Jhanduta 148, Ghumarwin 153, Hamirpur 172, Gagret 181, Nadaun 205, Kutlehr 248, Una, 257 and Dharampur 265.

Kangra Parliamentary:- Shahpur 68, Baijnath 69, Jaisinghpur 76, Dalhousie 95, Indora 127, Churah 123, Sulah 140, Fatehpur 141, Bhatiyat 153, Dharamshala 160, Jawalamukhi 172, Palampur 186, Jawali 193, Chamba 210, Nurpur 257, Nagrota Bagwan 298 and Kangra 315.

Mandi Parliamentary:- Bharmour 84, Lahaul and Spiti 94, Sundernagar 125, Mandi 131, Nachan 145, Jogindernagar 148, Karsog 153, Balh 162, Sarkaghat 174, Ani 181, Kinnaur 187, Rampur 195, Seraj 203, Darang 283, Banjar 332, Kullu 335 and Manali 339.

Shimla Parliamentary:- Theog 107, Nahan 116, Jubbal Kotkhai 119, Kasumpati 137, Pachhad 138, Renuka Ji 141, Doon 163, Chopal 173, Kasauli 182, Shilai 190, Shimla Rural 222, Shimla urban 226, Arki 237, Ponta Sahib 292, Rohru 312, Nalagarh 326 and Solan 375.

Previous articleIncredible: Lahaul-Spiti
Next articleChief Minister directs police on robbing complaints of shepherds
Rahul Bhandari is Editor of TheNewsHimachal and has been part of the digital world for last 15 years.