The Department of Mathematics, Government College, Haripur, will organise an International Conference on Mathematical Sciences (ICMS-2013) from March 8 to 9 at the Atal Bihari Vajpayee Institute of Mountaineering and Allied Sports, Manali.

As a tribute to legendary mathematician Srinivasa Aiyangar Ramanujan, the Department of Mathematics of the college had organised a national seminar last year also. This conference will be inaugurated by Prof ADN Bajpai, Vice-Chancellor, Himachal Pradesh University, Shimla.

Dr Sanjay Kango, convener of the conference, revealed that about 200 delegates, along with several renowned scholars including Prof Ganti Prasada Rao, member of the UNESCO-EOLSS Joint Committee from UAE, Dr AK Kulkarni from the Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai, Dr Vijay Raj Singh Shekhawat from the Ministry of HRD, New Delhi, Prof JN Sharma from NIT, Hamirpur, Prof Rajneesh from Kurukshetra University, Prof RP Sharma and Prof Veena Sharma from HP University, from more than 25 universities, 55 degree and engineering colleges and various industrial units would be participating in the conference.