Shimla: State level National Voters Day was celebrated here today. Justice Rajeev Sharma, Judge, High Court of Himachal Pradesh presided over the function.

Speaking on the occasion, Justice Sharma said that maximum youth attaining age of 18 years should be enrolled in the electoral rolls in a big way, so that they could actively participate in political process of the country. He said that, this will help youth to feel the sense of responsive citizens, empowered and would lead life with pride and participation in democracy. Enrollment in electoral rolls will also inspire them to exercise their newly acquired franchise, when occasion arises.

Justice Rajeev Sharma further said that youth should understand their duty towards Nation and they should know the high values of National character and patriotism. He advised Election authorities to sensitize more and more youth to get enrolled in electoral rolls and ensure their maximum participation in election process at all levels. He also advised to adopt the motto of ‘Vote with Smile’. This would help people to out to cast their votes happily and in pleasure mood. He congratulated Election Department for conducting transparent, violence free and peaceful elections during Himachal Vidhan Sabha recently.

Chief Electoral Officer Himachal Pradesh Narender Chauhan on this occasion said that 100 percent photo identity cards had been issued to over 46 lakh voters in the State. He said that Election Commission has decided to take up a vigorous exercise to identify all eligible voters who attains the age of 18 years on January first every year and motivate them to enroll them in the electoral rolls.

Chief Electoral Officer said that due to sustainable efforts of folk singers, voters were motivated, especially youth to participate in election process. This has improved the voters turn over in the State. For the first time polling reached upto 73.5 percent, which was ever highest in the State.

Video message of V.S. Sampath, Chief Election Commissioner of India was also displayed on this occasion. Justice Rajeev Sharma administered the National Voters Day Oath.

Justice Rajeev Sharma also presented awards to star ambassador, folk artists namely Shri Karnail Rana, Viki Chauhan, Nirmal Sharma and Radio Jocky, Shalini Sharma. He also awarded 12 officers of different departments of State Government for their outstanding services during recent Vidhan Sabha elections.

A colourful cultural programme was presented by Karnail Rana, Viki Chauhan, Mohindra Sharma, Nirmal Sharma alongwith artists from Gian Vigyan Samiti and Language, Art and Culture Department.

Guest of Honour, Justice V.K. Sharma, Judge, High Court of Himachal Pradesh, MLA Suresh Bhardwaj, Mayor Sanjay Chauhan, Deputy Mayor Tikender Panwar were also present on this occasion. Dr. Naresh Kumar Lath, ADM Shimla presented vote of thanks.

Previous articleHimachal Pradesh State level Statehood day function at Sunni in pictures
Next articleCM lays foundation stone of Basantpur Old Age Home
The News Himachal seeks to cover the entire demographic of the state, going from grass root panchayati level institutions to top echelons of the state. Our website hopes to be a source not just for news, but also a resource and a gateway for happenings in Himachal.