CPM state secretary Dr Kashmir Singh Thakur announced that the CPM has decided to contest elections on 22 seats out of the 68 constituencies in the state in the forthcoming Assembly election. CPM state secretary disclosed it in a press conference at Chamba.

He also added that the CPM would contest the Assembly elections in close coordination with the CPI. The CPM state secretary announced that in Chamba district, the CPM would contest elections from the Bhattiyat Assembly constituency from where the party had decided to field district secretary of the party Sudesh Thakur.

Dr Kashmir Singh Thakur believes that CPM with the newly formed Himachal Lok Morcha with Himachal Lokhit party will give potential “third alternative” for the people of Himachal Pradesh. he is hopeful for the positive response from the electorates.