To shortlist candidates for upcoming Lok Sabha elections, Himachal Pradesh Congress Committee conducted a meeting of State Election Committee at Rajiv Bhawan Shimla.

Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh, State Congress President Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu, Vidya Stokes, Kaul Singh Thakur, Chander Kumar, Gangu Ram Musafir, Kuldeep Kumar, G S Bali, Asha Kumari, Rangila Ram Rao, Dhani Ram Shandil, Punchog Rai and heads of frontal organisations were present at the meeting. It’s learned that the names of 21 candidates, who had applied for four Lok Sabha seats of the state, discussed in the meeting.

For Kangra parliamentary senior Congress leader Chander Kumar and Raghubir Singh Bali were considered and Congress looking to retain Pratibha Singh for Mandi parliamentary, however candidature of Lalit Chaudhary was also discussed in the meeting.

For Shimla (SC) parliamentary Sunder Singh Banolta, Sohan Lal, Om Parkash Kataria, Amit Nanda, Vinod Sultanpuri, Namita Chaudhary, Brij Lal and Mohan Lal Brakta names were discussed, whereas Ram Chander Pathania, Ram Lal Thakur, Rakesh Chaudhary, Sita Ram Bhardwaj, Arun Thakur, Des Raj Gautam, RR Rohi, Sunil Sharma and Rajinder Singh Rana were considered for Hamirpur Lok Sabha seat.

In its press statement, state Congress stated that the State Election Committee has unanimously forwarded these names to party high command to decide on the names of candidates for upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

Previous articleState Finance Commission submits report, recommends to grant of Rs. 858.96-cr
Next articleChief Minister given warm welcome at Dharamshala
Rahul Bhandari is Editor of TheNewsHimachal and has been part of the digital world for last 15 years.