The votes for 2012 Himachal Assembly Election will be cast on Sunday, 4 November. 7253 Polling Stations have been setup and about 4608359 electors will use their votes for the 68 assembly segments.

To ensure the peaceful, free and fair elections in the state, elaborate arrangements have been made. Chief Electoral Officer, Narendar Chauhan revealed that 7253 polling parties were constituted in the state and 29058 Polling Personals had been deputed for poll duty which also includes 5802 Reserve Polling Personnel. As many as 8798 Police Personnel and 60 companies of Central Para Military Force had been deployed, he added.

Chauhan said that 7253 Home Guard, 1092 NGO, 1366 Head Constables and 6340 Constables had been deployed for the poll duty. Besides, 36063 civil employees had also been deployed on poll duty. He said that 1365 HRTC Buses has been deployed to ensure smooth transportation men and material related with election process.

He said that 29 General, one Police and 27 Expenditure Observer had been deployed in the State. He further said that 68 Assistant Expenditure Observer and 1201 Micro Observer had also been deployed. He said that in-web-casting would be used in 490 polling stations. He said that 169 Sector Magistrates and 728 Sector Officers had been deployed through the State.

He said that as many as 4608359 electors can exercise their franchise in the election for the 68 Assembly Constituencies on 4th November, 2012 from 8.00AM to 5 PM.

CEO said that 459 candidates were in the fray for 68 Assembly Constituencies which include 425 male and 34 female candidates. He said that 106 Independent Candidates were also in the fray. BSP is contesting in 66 assembly segments, BJP in 68, CPI in seven, CPI (M) in 15, INC in 68, NCP in 13, AITMC in 25, SP in 14, HLP in 36, Lok Jan Shakti Party in 17, Himachal Swabhiman Party in 16, Shiv Sena in four, Indian Justice Party in one, Bhartiya Bahujan Party in two, and Hindustan Nirman Dal was contesting on one seat.

He said that the state had 100 per cent Electors Photo Identity Card (EPIC) holders and 9191 Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) would be used for voting including reserve EVMs. The Election Commission has also allowed the electors to cast their vote by producing any one document out of the 14 identity documents.

He said that 1310 Polling Stations had been declared Sensitive and 767 as Hypersensitive to ensure free and fair elections in the State. The maximum numbers of Hyper Sensitive Polling Stations were 197 in Kangra District, he added.

He said the Hikkim Polling Station in Lahaul and Spiti Assembly Constituency was situated at maximum height of 14567 feet having 344 voters. He said that Udaipur Polling Station of 3-Chamba Assembly Constituency was situated at the minimum height of 288 feet having 592 electors. Chief Electoral Officer said that Himachal has 9997 electors above the age of 89 years and 1642 electors are of the age 0f 90 years. He said that 8355 electors were above the age of 90 years. He further said that Sullah Assembly Constituency has highest 89293 electors in the State and Lahaul & Spiti assembly constituency had the minimum 22344 electors in the State. He further said that one auxiliary Polling Station has been set up in Kasauli Assembly constituency of District Solan, where nine electors will cast their vote.

He said that 1,09,115 voters were between the age group of 18 and 19 years and 11,54,162 voters were between the age of 30 and 39 years. He said that 95 years old Shri Shyam Saran from Kalpa is the oldest voter in the State. He was among the first to vote after Independence in the 1951 election.

He said that in Ka Polling Station of Kinnaur Assembly Constituency had minimum 18 electors. Kasha Polling Station in Rampur Assembly Constituency had maximum distance of 24 Km. on foot to be covered by Polling Parties. He said that Kasha Polling Station had 472 electors. He said that Badgaon Polling Station in 46-Jhanduta assembly segment had maximum 1379 electors.

The counting for all 68 Assembly constituencies would start on 20th December, 2012 at 8.00AM sharp.