BJP core committee failed to finalise candidates for remaining 23 seats and sent names to the High Command to take final decision. The core committee met at Chandigarh under the chairmanship of Sat Pal Satti.

Decision on the Jwalamukhi segment represented by Food and Supplies minister Romesh Dhawala has become tough as Dhawala and Irrigation and Public Health minister Ravinder Singh Ravi were adamant to contest from that seat.

Dhawala is a staunch supporter of BJP Vice President Shanta Kumar and he is backing his candidature from the seat, while Ravi has full support of chief minister Prem Kumar Dhumal, who wants Dhawala to shift to adjoining constituency of Dehra.

Similarly, the core committee failed to take any call on MLAs Tejwant Singh Negi (Kinnaur), Vidhan Sabha Speaker Tulsi Ram (Bharmaur), former ministers Roop Singh Thakur (Sundernagar) and Dile Ram (Nachan), Inder Singh Thakur (Sarkaghat), Atma Ram (Rajgir) and Desh Raj (Indora) and now all these names have been send to High Command. Again BJP is still undecided on Chopal and has sent four names including Amit Singh Chauhan, Uday Singh, Sima Mehta and Shashi Dutt Sharma for the approval.

Previous articleSatti asks Virbhadra Singh to prove charges of financial mismanagement
Next articleHimachal imposes complete ban on tobacco-based products
The News Himachal seeks to cover the entire demographic of the state, going from grass root panchayati level institutions to top echelons of the state. Our website hopes to be a source not just for news, but also a resource and a gateway for happenings in Himachal.