Horticulture and Technical Education Minister Narinder Bragata said that Rs. 80cr had been sanctioned for 32 Industrial Training Institutes (ITI) under Public Private Partnership (PPP) and Rs. 36.10cr for those 14 ITIs which had been upgraded to Centre Of Excellence (COE). Bragta said it in the first meeting of Chairmen’s of Institute Management Committees (IMC) and Principals’ of ITIs.

Minister exhorted the industrialists of the state, who are also the members of the IMCs to provide state of the art training in all the ITIs of the state so that students can fulfill the needs of the industry and may be able to secure good jobs. He said that latest training would help in providing more and more employment and self employment avenues to the youth of the state. He said that Himachal has the vast potential for setting up of Industries and state provides most serene and pollution free ambience to the industrialists with better law and order situation. He said that at present about 45,000 students were getting technical education in the state and the state government was striving hard to provide them best of the education near their homes. 7 new engineering colleges, 2 B. Pharma colleges, 18 ITIs have been established in the state in the last three and half years and 5 new ITIs would be opened soon, he added.

Bragata said that Himachal Pradesh Technical University at Hamirpur and Atal Behari Vajpayee Government Institute of Engineering and Technology at Pragati Nagar in district Shimla in collaboration with SJVNL had been made functional and a Hydro Engineering college would be established in district Bilaspur in collaboration with NHPC and NTPC. He assured the members of the IMCs that all their genuine problems would be solved on priority. He directed the officers to complete all the formalities required for construction of buildings etc. Members of IMCs, and Principals’ of ITIs gave valuable suggestions in the meeting. Vijay Chandan, Director, Technical Education proposed vote of thanks. S.K. Dash, Principal Secretary, Technical Education, Shri J. C. Chauhan, Special Secretary, Technical Education and other officers were also present in the meeting.