Shimla: Giving rest to all speculations, Indian national Congress has fielded senior party leader and former cabinet minister Ram Lal Thakur from Hamirpur parliamentary constituency. Thakur is legislature from Shri Naina Devi assembly constituency of Bilaspur district.

Ram Lal Thakur had unsuccessfully contested parliamentary election from same segment thrice in 1999, 2004 and bye poll in 2007. He had lost in 1999 and 2004 to Suresh Chandel and in 2007 bye-election Thakur lost the election against Prem Kumar Dhumal.

Indian National Congress had announced its three candidates of Himachal earlier and in Hamirpur segment party was finding difficult to field its candidate against Anurag Thakur. Candidature of Sukhvinder Singh, Mukesh Agnihotri and Abhishek Rana were being discussed, but Sukhvinder Singh and Mukesh Agnihotri were reportedly reluctant to contest the election. Name of BJP veteran Suresh Chandel were also being discussed, who was expecting to join Congress party to contest election, but with Ram Lal Thakur candidature now finally Congress cadre will plunge into campaign.

Veteran Congress leader Virbhadra Singh was seeking ticket for Abhishek Rana, son of Rajender Rana, who had defeated Prem Kumar Dhumal from Sujanpur assembly segment. However, Rana’s name hasn’t got party high command approval. As per information party wanted to field senior Congress leader and leader of opposition Mukesh Agnihotri in BJP strong bastion. Later name of ex party state president and Nadaun legislature Sukhvinder Singh was also being discussed at the party core committee.

Himachal Pradesh is going to poll on seventh and last phase of election on 19th May. Counting of votes will be in 23rd may and results will also being declared on the same day.

Previous articleElection Commission’s ‘Voter Helpline’ App to show candidate’s information
Next articleSon or Party? CM asks Anil Sharma to choose
Rahul Bhandari is Editor of TheNewsHimachal and has been part of the digital world for last 15 years.