Bahra University

Chief Electoral Officer Narinder Chauhan said that as per the information received the by-poll in Mandi Parliamentary Constituency concluded peacefully and no untoward incident was reported. The polling percentage of Mandi Parliamentary bye-election stood approximately at 52 percent.

The polling however started slowly in the early hours and till the reports reaching headquarters by 10.00 AM, Lahaul and Spiti registered 19.91% followed by Seraj and Jogindernagar with 18.62 % and 16.01 % respectively. The voters turn out was 13.79 % approximately by 10 AM in 16 constituencies where bypoll were conducted except the disaster hit of district of Kinnaur where the election will take place on 27th of this month.

Chauhan said that four candidates were in fray and there were 10,72,725 voters of five districts viz: Bharmour of district Chamba, Lahaul and Spiti, Kullu, Mandi and Rampur assembly segment of district Shimla.

As per reports received from State Election Commission, the percentage of polling picked up by noon and approximately 27.23 percentage of polling was recorded between 10.00 AM to 12.00 noon, with 39.82% polling in Lahaul-Spiti, in Seraj (36.66 %) followed by Jogindernagar (32.47 %) and Rampur (32.10 %). Till reports reaching by 12.00 noon the lowest voter turn out was in District Kullu i.e. 17. 82 percent approximately.

By 2.00 PM the total polling percentage was 38.68 percent, the highest again was registered at Lahaul-Spiti (50.20%) followed by Seraj (49.29 %) and Rampur registering (44.68 %).

The polling gradually picked up later and as per reports, the voting trend by 4.00 PM showed that Nachan Assembly Constituency registered 81.04% poll followed by Seraj, 55.83 % and Balh assembly constituency where 52.63 percent polling was recorded.

The highest polling percentage of 66% was reported from Seraj assembly constituency whereas Kullu assembly segment registered lowest polling percentage of 41 percent.

Narinder Chauhan said that all 1803 polling parties along with polled Electoral Voting Machines (EVMs) were expected to reach their respective collection centres under tight security and necessary arrangements had been made to keep them in safe custody till counting of the votes on 30th June, 2013. He said that the counting on 30th June would start at 8.00 AM in the morning.

According to Chauhan the total percentage of voter turnout was approximately 60.27%, in Bharmour assembly segment in Lahaul & Spiti 60.40 % approximately, in Rampur assembly segment it stood at 56.22% approximately, in Kullu District 47 % and in Mandi District 54% approximately.

The polling percentage in Banjar AC was reported 46.96 percent, in Anni 51.16 percent, in Karsog 46.12 percent in Sundernagar 50.15 percent, in Nachan 54.82 percent, in Seraj 65.23 percent, in Darang 49.82 percent, in Jogindernagar 54.53 percent, in Balh 58.57 percent and in Sarkaghat segment 50.51 percent approximately.

The Seraj assembly constituency reported highest 65.23 percent polling whereas Kullu registered the lowest percentage of polling at 40.81 %.

Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh, cast his vote at Padam Singh Memorial Government School, Rampur Bushehar Polling Station along-with family members.