Himachal Pradesh Cabinet in its Meeting granted approval to ‘Atal School Uniform Scheme’, aimed at providing two pairs of school uniform, one in April and another in October during each academic session to about nine lakh students studying in State run educational institutions from first to matric standard. It will go a long way in bringing about uniformity and discipline amongst the students belonging to different economic strata of the society. It has also been decided to constitute a Committee under the Chairmanship of the Additional Chief Secretary (Forests) and consisting of Principal Secretary Finance, Principal Secretary Industries, Principal Secretary Food, Civil Supplies and Consumer Affairs, Principal Secretary to the Chief Minister, Secretary Education, Directors of Higher and Elementary Education, as its Members, for effective implementation of the Scheme and procurement of uniform by March 31, 2012.

Chief Minister Prem Kumar Dhumal presided over the Meeting. Cabinet approved to Constitute The Himachal Pradesh State Commission for Welfare of Economically Backward Section (Samanya Varg Nirdhan Kalyan Aayog) of general category as autonomous body on permanent basis to examine all issues relating to the Integrated Development and Welfare of Economically Backward Classes, give suggestions to the State Government for envisioning new schemes as well as amendments in existing schemes and related matters besides ensuring all Constitutional and legal safeguards for their protection.

It was approved to fill up 187 posts of different categories for establishment of 5 Government Polytechnics at Paonta Sahib, Kullu, Kinnaur at Kalpa, Bilaspur and Udaipur in Lahaul and Spiti on contract basis; 156 Ayurvedic Medical Officers on contract basis in the Department of Ayurveda on the analogy of the Department and Family Welfare; 12 posts of Civil Judge (Junior Division) by direct recruitment through HP Public Service Commission; 12 posts of different categories in the Department of Environment, Science & Technology; 6 posts of different categories in the Department of Energy

It was decided to introduce Fitter Trade in ITI, Bagsyad in district Mandi from academic session 2012-13 and also sanctioned one post of Group Instructor and 2 posts of Trade Instructors. It accorded approval for filling up of 8 posts of Kanungo in Election Department; four posts of Superintendent Grade-II in remaining four Divisions of Irrigation and Public Health Department; 3 posts of Steno Typist, one post each of Senior Assistant, Accountant and Computer Operator besides filling up 3 posts of Clerks on secondment basis out of Surplus Pool of the Government or Board etc. in HP State Electricity Regulatory Commission; 4 posts of Leading Firemen in Department of Fire Services; 1 Head Constable, 2 posts of Constable and Lady Constable to man the Police Post for HEP of Tangnu-Rumai-I & II in Chirgaon Tehsil of district Shimla; 1 post of Scientific Assistant and Laboratory Assistant (Research) in Drug Testing Laboratory at Jogindernagar.

It was decided to sell power available to the Government of Himachal Pradesh, on account of equity participation in Nathpa Jhakri Hydro Power Station, on yearly basis through bidding process. Permission was granted to Himachal Pradesh Power Transmission Corporation Limited to enhance its share capital limit from existing Rs. 50 crore to Rs. 150 crore besides enhancing borrowing limit of paid up capital and free deposit beyond Rs. 1.00 crore.

Cabinet also decided to implement ‘Himachal Pradesh e-Stamping Rule, 2010’ beyond the districts of Shimla and Solan to cover entire State in a phased manner by authorizing Stock Holding Corporation of India Limited to implement the process and bring about transparency and efficiency in delivery of services to the common man.

Approval was granted to the proposal of HP Power Corporation Limited for creation of a separate category of Project Affected Family namely ‘MPAF-Shamlat’ for Renukaji Dam Project in district Sirmour and the MPAF-S category made eligible for providing grants, scholarships, sponsored admission to ITIs etc. by amending the Rehabilitation and Resettlement Plan of the Project.

It was approved to extend the date for removal of dead stems of ‘Deodar’ trees in different parts of the State subject to the condition that the extractors will fill the pits and plant a minimum of three saplings of ‘Deodar’ in compensation of removal of each dead stems under the guidance of the Forest Department. It was decided to make Jawahar Lal Nehru Government Engineering College, Sundernagar, as constituent college of HP Technical University, Hamirpur.

Approval has been granted to amend the Himachal Pradesh (Van Thanas) Rules, 2010 with a view to protect the forest wealth and check illegal felling in different parts of the State. It granted approval to designate MLA Kinnaur as Chairman of all the Local Area Development Committees constituted by different Hydro Electric Projects in the district of Kinnaur, while Deputy Commissioner or respective Sub-Divisional Magistrates shall be its Vice Chairmen.

It approved the First Statutes of The Institute of Chartered Financial Analysts of India University, in district Solan. Approval was granted to the Recruitment and Promotion Rules of Drug Controller, Class-I (Gazetted) in Himachal Pradesh Health Safety and Regulation Department.