Chief Ministers XI

Governor Urmila Singh inaugurated the T-20 Charity Cricket Match being played between Governors XI and Chief Ministers XI at Bishop Cotton School here today. Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh was also present on the occasion. The match was organized by the Himachal Pradesh Sports Culture and Environment Association.

Governor congratulated the Association for the initiative and hoped that such matches would not only provide wholesome entertainment to the players and spectators, but also go a long way in strengthening the bonds of fraternity.

Vidhan Sabha Speaker Brij Bihari Lal Butail spinned the toss and Urmila Singh Captain of Governors XI won it and elected to bat first.

Playing first Governor’s XI made 218 runs, while Chief Minister’s XI all out for just 95 runs and defeated Chief Minister’s XI by 123 runs. Dr Amandeep Garg was highest scorer with 59 runs, while Amitabh Awasthi made 52 and Tarun Shridhar, Vice Captain of Governor’s XI contributed 16 runs. Whereas from Chief Minister’s XI Sudhir Sharma made 51 runs and Chopal MLA contributed nine runs to the scoreboard.

The teams were headed by the Governor and Chief Minister. Industries Minister, Mukesh Agnihotri was the Vice Captain of Chief Minister’s XI and Principal Secretary Tarun Shridhar was Vice Captain of Governor’s XI. Senior officers of State Government played for Governors XI whereas Cabinet Minister’s, Chief Parliamentary Secretaries and MLAs played for Chief Minister’s XI.

President H.P. Sports Culture and Environment Association Vikramaditya Singh welcomed the Governor and Chief Minister on the occasion. He also felicitated Social Justice and Empowerment Minister Dr (Col.) Dhani Ram Shandil, MLA and Chairman National Commission for Scheduled Tribe Ravi Thakur, Chairman H P Finance Commission Kuldeep Kumar, President HPCC Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu and Headmaster of Bishop Cotton School Roy Christopher Robinson on the occasion.

Cabinet Ministers, Chief Parliamentary Secretaries, MLAs and senior officers of State Government were present among others present on the occasion.

Governors XI

Previous articleVirbhadra Singh pays floral tributes to ‘Punjab Kesari’ Lala Lajpat Rai
Next articleDhawan nine gives Himachal easy win, places at top of the point table
Rahul Bhandari is Editor of TheNewsHimachal and has been part of the digital world for last 15 years.